In His Memory

We’ve passed the year mark, what’s next?

No more firsts, and now life begins to fade into the second spring since he left, another day, another new moon, another sunset.

Although his physical life may have ended that March 11th just before sunset, his real life and purpose didn’t end there. The celebration of who he was to us or the legacy he left us with, will never be gone. I hope it never even fades, and that it just continues to grow as the years pass.

I am a firm believer that he chose Gina and I for his mamas. He wanted to be here with us, but the physical body that he ended up inhabiting just wasn’t strong enough for everything he needed to do in life. This powerful soul, chose us.

He’s part of us indefinitely.

As I continue along this life in hopes of growth and connection and more love flowing into my family, he too grows, causes more connection, and is a catalyst for more love between our family, our friends,  and within our community.

Luca has inspired so much.

Most obviously, he has given me the courage to put it all out there, to share this vulnerability with our community, and to let others going through this deep grief  and immense love know they aren’t on this path alone.

Writing has been therapeutic for me. It’s given me the opportunity to chronicle my new life. And in this writing, I have been able to type Luca’s name hundreds of times. It flows directly out of my fingertips, his name does. It’s so natural for me to write about him and what he’s doing in my life at that very moment.

One of these times, I wrote a piece in response to a call for submissions from parents who had lost their children. There was a plan to put all these stories together into a book.

I sat down and listened to music. Listening to the melody and lyrics of certain songs, pulled and continues to pull at the very back of my heart, and elicits a memory from listening to that same exact song when Luca was growing inside of me. This physical and emotional memory brings me to a place where I feel cracked wide open, and the words and love flow. This happens every time I write, and it happened that 10th that I sat down to write my submission.

Several months later, I found out that the piece I had written was going to be published as part of this anthology. It has been so amazing to think that Luca’s name and our story is going to be in print. Other people, strangers I would never meet, would know of Luca D’oro. He will have been gone for years, but his story would continue to be told. It brings a smile to my face. I am so proud of him.

The book Three Minus One has an official publication date of April 19th, and you can reserve your copy on Amazon. The kindle book is also available for pre-order. If you would like to purchase the book, you can visit : http://www.amazon.com/Three-Minus-One-Stories-Parents/dp/1938314808/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1395018869&sr=1-1&keywords=three+minus+one 

This book is full of love stories, of love and of loss. I wish there had been something like this a year ago when we were searching to find others who had been through this, but I am so grateful to now be a part of this collection of stories for other parents to connect with as they figure out life after their children leave this earth.

Then of course, as part of Luca’s birthday month, and with the idea planted in our minds from our dear friend Annie JoJo, we have gotten together with a company called Hugg-A-Planet®Earth, a family owned company in Vermont that makes all organic toys here in the USA, to donate small, organic stuffed animals to the UCSD NICU. The UCSD NICU was where Luca stayed for the majority of his time on earth, and was loved and taken care of by the staff there. These toys will be placed in or near the hospital bassinets for the duration baby is staying in the NICU, and will hopefully go home with that baby when it’s healthy enough to join its family. If the sweet baby doesn’t make it, the stuffed animal will be added to that child’s memory box and be a tangible memory for their family. We cherish anything that touched or was near Luca, so we understand how much this would mean to those families.

We had originally shared this information at Luca’s celebration, but wanted to share it with the folks that follow us from afar.

The two items you can purchase are “Totally Turtle” and “Save this Whale”. Click  on this link for instructions on how to order: Luca Loves

Then visit http://www.peacetoys.com/foundling.html to order. We’d like to get all these orders in by the end of the month, so they can all ship at once.

Thanks for spreading the Luca love. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

