364

It’s been a year since the last day that I carried Luca D’oro in my belly.

I want to rewind back to last year and have this completely different story than what actually happened, about how I gently birthed him into this world, how he came out breathing and alive, and was placed immediately in our arms, and our eyes met for the first time.

How at that moment, both Gina and I fell in love with the newest member of our family.

And as I sit here typing on the eve of the anniversary of Luca’s birth, and two days from the anniversary of when I first laid my eyes upon him, and held him while he took his last breaths, I reach for the one thing that outweighs the depth and heaviness of the grief of losing him.

I find myself in this moment, completely overwhelmed by the amount of love Luca represents, and continues to show us everyday.

I’m at a loss for words, my heart heavy, and my throat tangled up in one big knot. My fingers too, feel uncertain of what to write.

So instead of trying to figure out what to say- I will go step into the sun, surround myself with that Luca love, and carry him in my heart for the rest of the day.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “364

Leave a Reply

