We are not alone.

There are so many others that have walked this path before us, and they managed to continue living, and find joy again.

There are so many others that have experienced this same journey, and have been able to give us the assurance that we are not alone.

In working on the bereavement packet for the hospital Luca was born at, we are compiling a list of quotes. Ones so profound, you can’t help but be moved when you read them. Especially as a family that has lost their child.

Elizabeth Edwards spoke about losing her child:

“If you know someone who has lost a child or lost anybody who’s important to them, and you’re afraid to mention them because you think you might make them sad by reminding them that they died, they didn’t forget they died. You’re not reminding them. What you’re reminding them of is that you remember that they lived, and that’s a great, great gift.”

“If I had lost a leg, I would tell them, instead of a boy, no one would ever ask me if I was ‘over’ it. They would ask me how I was doing learning to walk without my leg. I was learning to walk and to breath and to live without Wade. And what I was learning is that it was never going to be the life I had before.” 

And this one of course, always gets me right in the very core:

”There is, I am convinced, no picture that conveys in all its dreadfulness, a vision of sorrow, despairing, remediless, supreme. If I could paint such a picture, the canvas would show only a woman looking down at her empty arms.” -Charlotte Bronte

We are not alone. Others have had to pioneer this path before us. And unfortunately, we will not be the last. We too will forge this path, and hold hope for those families whose sweet babes will also be, taken too soon.

Leave a Reply

